Log in

Pharmacy Leadership Society Hosts Virtual Awards Ceremony

Thursday, April 30, 2020 8:00 AM | Katelyn Shatz (Administrator)

April 30th, 2020

Phi Lambda Sigma, the Pharmacy Leadership Society, held its first ever Virtual Awards Ceremony on Sunday, April 19, 2020. The event was presided over by incoming President, Jordan Ballou, PharmD, BCACP from the University of Mississippi. The Society was forced to hold the event virtually since in-person meetings were prohibited as a result of COVID-19. 

The following deserving award recipients were honored during the ceremony: 

Albert B. Prescott Award: Lindsay Kunkle, PharmD, MBA, American Pharmacists Association 

Chapter of the Year Award: University of Wisconsin at Madison (Beta Alpha Chapter) 

Charles C. Thomas Scholarship: Jaspreet Bhullar, PharmD Candidate, Long Island University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (Beta Kappa Chapter) 

Charlie Thomas Leadership Challenge: University of South Carolina College of Pharmacy (Zeta Chapter) 

Kathleen A. Hawkins Travel Awards: Angela Baalman, PharmD Candidate, University of Kansas School of Pharmacy (Beta Iota Chapter); Whitney Dovel, PharmD Candidate, Southwestern Oklahoma State University College of Pharmacy (Alpha Psi Chapter); Guileonne Tegomo, University of Kansas School of Pharmacy (Beta Iota Chapter) 

National Alumnus of the Year: Jodi Taylor, PharmD, BCPS, BCCCP, FASHP 

Outstanding Chapter Advisor: Brianne Dunn, PharmD, University of South Carolina College of Pharmacy (Zeta Chapter) 

Proctor and Gamble Leadership Award: Tina Brock, MS, EdD, Monash University, Australia 

One of the most significant announcements of the event came from Executive Director, Mary Euler, PharmD, FAPhA. During the 45th House of Delegates session earlier in the afternoon, Dr. Euler formally announced that she will be stepping down as the Executive Director of the Society on June 30, 2020 after over 20 years of service in that role. Dr. Euler was honored during the awards ceremony with a tribute speech by friend and colleague, Alan Spies, RPh, JD, MBA, PhD. When learning of Dr. Euler’s anticipated retirement, outgoing National President, Dr. Brian Esters, commented, “I have been lucky enough to observe Dr. Euler's leadership since my induction into the society and now serving on the National Executive Committee. Dr. Euler is truly a servant leader, her focus has been on the well-being of Phi Lambda Sigma and the growth of the organization. Dr. Euler has inspired pharmacists for over twenty years and put the needs of the profession, organization and more importantly the individual first over her own aspirations and desires.” National President 2018-2019, Dr. Jaclyn Cole, added, “There will never be enough words to thank her for her time, effort, and contribution to the evolution of our organization during her tenure. She will truly be missed as a mentor and a friend.” 

The National Executive Committee was made aware of Dr. Euler’s intent to step-down during the Society’s leadership retreat last summer and have successfully completed a search for a new Executive Director who will start on July 1, 2020. 

Phi Lambda Sigma was established in 1965 to develop leadership qualities among pharmacy students and pharmacists and to recognize leaders in the profession. The Society will hold its 46th House of Delegates and Award Ceremony in the Summer of 2021.

Phi Lambda Sigma
40 Bailey Lane
Uniontown, PA 15401